The Idea of You

The Idea of YouThe Idea of You by Amanda Prowse

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Lucy is a happily married woman who wants a child more than anything. Her husband Jonah is thrilled when Lucy finds out she is pregnant, only to have a miscarriage. This happens again and again and Lucy feels like any women who has experienced a miscarriage feels. This book may be a trigger for those who have had a miscarriage or may stir up old memories. I had a miscarriage a year before I became pregnant with my daughter and remember how I felt when I found out the baby I hoped and dreamed for was gone. I found myself tearing up and very much relating to Lucy’s feelings, so parts were a bit emotional for me but not to the point that I couldn’t continue on reading the book.

I like Lucy’s character, she is a strong and very normal woman. She has a great job and is very much in love with her husband. Her husband’s daughter from a previous marriage comes to stay with them for the summer and this too turns Lucy’s world upside down as she deals with being a StepMom to a teen who doesn’t seem to like her and dealing with her miscarriages at the same time.

If you have never had a miscarriage, I will say this book is spot on for understanding how a woman may feel who wants a baby so badly and finds she cannot have what she wants more than anything. The storyline flowed very well and I was actually surprised how much I ended up liking this book. The characters were very relatable and I found I really liked Lucy and had she not been a fictional character I think she would make for a fantastic friend.

I received this book as an ARC but as always I am very honest in my reviews, happy reading!

Leave a Reply

